Comfort zones

How many of us step outside?

A comment by EllaDee made me think about how often I read blogs that have little or nothing in common with me.

Or to put it another way, vegetarian, left-wing, atheist, feminist, environmentalist, veganic gardening, animal rights supporting, childfree women aren’t exactly popping out of the woodwork.

In terms of visiting blogs that are poles apart, the atheist/religious dances are the most fascinating.

Atheists, a number of whom, or probably most of them, are deconverts, happily frequent religious blogs arguing the toss about whether this person or that person really existed, how much of the bible is fiction, and what the latest archaeological survey says.

And it all floats over the top of my head.

My really clever intellectual justification for not believing in any of it, is that religion sounds totally implausible, so therefore that’s that.

But somewhat like people who read gossip magazines, I will confess to visiting religious blogs when I have something else more important to do. Like washing up.

I’m attracted, like iron filings to a magnet. Many times there is lots of jolly backslapping, with comments of ‘Praise be, brother,’ ‘Amen to that sister,’ ‘The Lord truly shows us the way,’ and endless variations on that theme.

Nothing of any substance until the evil atheist appears, and then, it’s gloves off. Or pistols at dawn. Insults are hurled, academic references are cited, 20 interpretations of one word are minutely examined, and no one is any the wiser, nor is agreement ever reached. Plus, there are threats of moderation and bans! Comments are edited, links to sources deleted. Amazing stuff. To which I can contribute absolutely zilch.

But still, it makes a fascinating read on occasion.

The one religious blog where I have been welcomed is Wally’s. I have no idea why, as we can’t agree on anything, but still we seem to be able to do so politely.

On my last visit, I was somewhat upset to find general euphoria that 21 people had been killed by ISIS for not denying Christ. Sounded a bit of a fishy story to me as the 21st person wasn’t Christian but was so impressed by the previous 20 sticking up for Jesus that he did too.

Anyways, the point of all this was that said euphoria was because the alleged non-Christian found the Lord just before he was beheaded.

And that’s good? That’s more important than the fact that 21 people were murdered by another fundamentalist religion?

However, if I can traipse over to Wally’s blog with my ignorant comments and be welcomed, what about Christians visiting non-christian blogs?

Rebecca Meyer is a new blogpal. In fact, she has managed to conduct a civil conversation with Mr SailorDale which says something about her levels of patience and reasonableness. She recently criticised, on her own blog, some pastor’s post about ten women not to marry. I probably fitted in at least 50% of the categories.

As Rebecca said, out of nowhere, a woman visited her blog and started criticising her.

KQ Duane:

This is obviously a clan of feminist groupies patting each other on the backs for their “enlightened” view of the world, at the expense of a man, who’s advice you all desperately need. Have any of you ever considered that you may all be so bitchy and obnoxious BECAUSE you’ve spent your young lives obsessed with proving Christians wrong rather than listening to their advice? Radical, second and third-wave feminism sucks the dignity and humanity out of women’s young lives and you are PERFECT examples of why it should NEVER be adopted as a lifestyle! Get over yourselves!

and,

You don’t have to state specifically that you are a non-Christian, it is obvious from the content of your blog.
And “hate” is a harsh word to describe well-intentioned advice, given by someone who’s “been there, done that”. Someone who knows much better than you, where you’re headed and the deliberate disaster your “radical feminist lifestyle” will lead you to. Your reaction to my comment is symptomatic of the chronic negativity that radical feminism produces in its adherents. It will destroy your life.
Next, you are obviously a disciple of radical feminism and unwittingly regurgitating the same feminist BS that has been disproven time and time again. ” Equal pay” does not exist because the men are holding women back. It is because, thank God, women, of their own volition, choose to leave the workforce to raise their children. This, and only this, tilts the income scale in men’s favor.
Being treated like a human being? Behaving like one goes along way to accomplishing that goal and being a bitchy feminist will kill that chance for you.
Sex object? Come on! Radical, second-wave feminists created the “sexual revolution.” They have been demanding equal levels of promiscuity for women for 45 years! YOU got what THEY asked for.
I’m completely insulting people I know nothing about? Hardly. Radical feminists are all alike and I can pick them out from a mile away. I would say you needed to take your own advice when you laughably tried to demean the pastor’s well-intentioned advice. Maybe you wouldn’t look like such a fool at the moment if you had taken your own advice.
And don’t give me that crap about, aren’t Christians supposed to be nice to people. I don’t buy that when it comes to radical feminists because they are “possessed” and you CAN’T kill them with kindness. You can only hope to shock them back to life.
Again, good luck with your life’s journey. Only with God’s help, not some radical, lesbian, feminist academic’s “help”, will you ever find true peace and happiness in your life.

And from same woman to me:

Obviously you need the advice of a man who loves you to breakthrough the feminist concrete between your ears.

Another good anti-feminist for Christianity.

Full exchanges on Rebecca’s should you wish further enlightenment.

About roughseasinthemed

I write about my life as an English person living in Spain and Gibraltar, on Roughseas, subjects range from politics and current developments in Gib to book reviews, cooking and getting on with life. My views and thoughts on a variety of topics - depending on my mood of the day - can be found over on Clouds. A few pix are over on Everypic - although it is not a photoblog. And of course my dog had his own blog, but most of you knew that anyway. Pippadogblog etc
This entry was posted in Atheism, blogging, christianity, feminism, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

70 Responses to Comfort zones

  1. Thank you so much for the kind words, and for including me in this post! 🙂 You’re awesome for joining in and sticking up for me when KQ Duane was insulting me on my blog.

    Liked by 2 people

    • You’re welcome. I thought the fact that you can engage politely with someone as rude and obnoxious as SD and yet have some woman descend on your blog oozing venom all over, was a good example of how people shift from one blog to another.

      I just thought she was downright rude. Always happy to tell someone that. Not that you need sticking up for. Although from experience, it is nice if someone else comments too. Is she following your blog? 😀

      Liked by 3 people

  2. Wally Fry says:

    Hey Kate

    Thanks for the kind words. I do enjoy our conversations despite our substatial differences!

    Like

    • Hi Wally.

      It’s true though. We can disagree about pretty much everything but still manage to speak. No mean achievement. I think you know by now that my questions aren’t trick ones, I just can’t get into my head where you are all coming from. Qv, the 21 murders. That still doesn’t ring true to me either. It’s too glib.

      I really wanted to point out that atheists and christians can discuss issues, we will never agree but we can have a discussion. Of sorts. And because for the most part, I see atheists getting criticised for visiting christian blogs and in some cases, regarded as being insulting/rude/nuisances (take your pick), I thought Rebecca’s post where a Christian woman started to be rude to her (and me) was an interesting example of the same behaviour the other way around.

      Thanks for the comment Wally.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Wally Fry says:

        Hey Kate
        Well, the reason we can talk without too much conflict is that we make attempts to respect each other. Look, you know there are things that I simply think you are wrong on. Actually, you know the thoughts are not mine, but what I believe God desires. And on most of them we are opposite. No prob. I can comfortably disagree and not think you are a “bad” person. Certainly no worse than me. You know, I think, know my views about sin and the human condition. Therefore, I am as bad as the next..person (almost said guy LOL).That was humor by the way…ok?

        I do believe what I believe, and furthermore I want as many to believe likewise as possible. That is because I love them. I’m certainly not going to achieve that by being a brute, now am I?

        Ok..now those other folks. Well, the truth is, some trolls do visit Christian blogs with no other purpose than to disrupt and harass. Not all, but some do. The truth on that matter is, God commands me to love, not to be a punching bag. Enough said there.

        Meanwhile, you come back anytime. I will do likewise.

        Have a nice…(insert correct time of day here).

        Liked by 1 person

        • You see we use different language. I would not say you are wrong. Your beliefs are yours and you hold them for whatever reason. I wouldn’t say you are wrong for doing so, and therein lies the difference between us. I don’t agree with your beliefs or your stance on just about everything. But that’s it. Just because I don’t agree with someone doesn’t make them wrong if we are discussing ethics, morals etc. And the other difference between us is that, I am giving my opinion, not saying ‘well actually it’s not me, it’s what He thinks and wants, which therefore is why He is Right and you are wrong.’ I paraphrase, but you get the idea, I don’t think I’m too far off the mark.

          As for sin, I happen to think that’s a load of bunkum. And it is not because I don’t understand what you are saying, I find it implausible, fictitious and just part of the overall indoctrination process that exists around some groups of Christians. Pretty much on a par with people burning in hell for eternity.

          Another difference is that I don’t want other people to change their views to take on mine. Because I don’t believe in your god or any other god, I think it is up to each individual to make their own decisions in life and, if you like, set their own moral compass. I see nothing in Christians or christianity that leads me to believe they or their religion, or particular branch of it, manage life better than anyone else. I think it’s a rather sweeping generalisation to say that I love everyone, so I won’t make that one.

          From what I’ve seen of the different visitors to blogs, I see frustration from non-christians because they don’t feel they are getting set answers. It’s a bit like ringing a call centre and the person on the ‘phone reads off a scripted sheet. That’s just my take on it. I ask questions out of satiable curiosity, say like the example I quoted in this post. I’m not aiming to change your mind or point of view, because I don’t bother with the impossible and because equally so, you aren’t going to change mine.

          Just day actually 😀 as its morning and I have the whole day ahead of me to get on with something meaningful, and here I am on my blog!

          Liked by 2 people

  3. “vegetarian, left-wing, atheist, feminist, environmentalist, veganic gardening, animal rights supporting, childfree women” – you called? *laughs a lot*.

    I’ve noted many times the nastiness, and I mean really appalling comments from supposedly ‘Christian’ folk who find it perfectly feasible to nip onto some atheist/feminist/not a nutter’s blog and let loose their tirades of unpleasantness. I could not be so patient as Rebecca, good on her there, I started growling outloud very early on. And between the two of you a superb job was done handling that twisted religious sister. I hope she knows she’s going to hell for all that bile, what with that and the fact that God is actually a giant financially independent lesbian chicken.

    – sonmi upon the Cloud

    Liked by 2 people

    • makagutu says:

      Sonmi I have been wondering about the nature of god and no apologist wants to answer the question. Now I know why, god is lesbian and they are ashamed of it.
      Thanks a million

      Liked by 2 people

    • Haha. That gave me my first laugh of the morning with your opening comment. And there was me thinking I was unique. Hey ho. And my second laugh was at the description God, that’s a new one on me. But still, I guess a god can be whatever you want it to be. Actually I read a good book last year where the high priest of the state religion at one point was a chicken … so you may not be too far off the mark.

      I thought she was an interesting example, as mostly I see atheists visiting christian blogs, and then the fisticuffs start, so to see it the other way round was interesting. I thought Rebecca was incredibly patient. I doubt I would have been had it been on my blog. I’m not keen on the barrages of ridiculous personal insults, not because I run away and cry, but because I think it can detract from the main point of the blog post. Then you have to decide whether to leave it to show the world what a Tosser the commenter is, and if so, how to answer it (**** off being the immediate reaction of choice), or put it into moderation.

      In this case not my worry. And both Rebecca and I made a post each using it, so there we go. A positive. Two positives in fact.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: What’s with all the hate? | Humyn

  5. I agree that she was rude. I definitely appreciate you commenting in response to her, because it helped a lot to know I had someone else feeling like I was. She’s not following my blog, but she did continue the conversation yesterday. It was quite entertaining. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sometimes, in that situation, it feels as though the blog owner and the gatecrasher are conducting a conversation in the middle of a party and everyone else has shut up to listen. I think I interfered because I thought she was grossly patronising. It’s easy to be ageist towards younger people, ‘been there, done that’ as she said, so I wanted to point out that your views were perfectly valid. There is some misconception that men don’t want independent, working, intelligent, assertive women who have travelled. I have read plenty of men who all say the last thing they would want is a doormat who just stays at home breeding kids and baking cakes. Fine if they want to do that. Not all women do, and not all men want that either.

      As for getting married to have someone to look after you in your dotage … ‘shall we get married?’
      ‘Only if you look after me when I’m incontinent’.

      Liked by 2 people

      • She was definitely a party crasher all right! I appreciate that you did step in to show her that age has nothing to do with my opinions and that feminists can have healthy, long-lasting relationships without being stay-at-home housewives. I agree that most men today are interested in strong, independent women who have their own goals. I think if I get married, I’ll make sure to say he can only marry me if he promises to change my diapers when I’m 80. Very romantic. 😉

        Like

        • Don’t want to deflate your bubble but it may be before you are 80, so you could get a few years of incontinence care out of him. By the time you are 80, you could both be taking each other to the toilet! Doesn’t bear thinking about. Who on earth gets married thinking about that?

          I think it’s important that people read about feminist women who have travelled, don’t have children, had a career and earned more than him, and whatever else Pastor Whatsit said that should be avoided. Plus, there are loads of different feminists, including Christian ones …

          Liked by 2 people

          • That’s a good point. And I agree–I don’t know how someone would think about that as a reason to get married!

            I think it’s so important for women to know that we don’t have to have kids or even get married if we don’t want to. We can travel, have awesome jobs, and do the things that make us happy. All types of women (and men!) can be feminists. 🙂

            Like

          • I hated the thought that the only thing my life was about was to get married. I wanted my degree, to travel, to have a career, to be independent. And I did all of that. And I would do it all again, and more.

            Liked by 2 people

          • I felt the same way! But I think my thought was, “Wait a minute, why do I have to get married?!?” I’m open-minded to the idea if I meet the right person. But I’m more interested in finding a way to travel, have a job I’m passionate about as a career, and learn as much as I can about the world. To me, that sounds like the life. 🙂

            Like

          • It worked for me. And I met my partner on the other side of the world. Shit happens huh?

            Liked by 1 person

          • Wow, cool! You never know what could happen. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  6. makagutu says:

    How would Becky allow such a rude visitor on her blog for that long?
    Christian charity extends to all except if you’re a feminist. I didn’t know this really. The things we learn!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve always marveled at how expressions of love and hate can coexist so easily in the Christian brain. I was engaged in a conversation in my own living room with a craftsman who also happened to be an evangelical. Within the span of a single breath he went from “God is love and faith brings peace” to “we have to kick these dirty illegals out of our country”.

    I do engage these folks on the blogs and I do my best to treat them respectfully. Some, like SoM, view their own I’ll-mannered behavior as a form of tough love, but there’s no respect evident from them without which you can’t have love. To some Christians love clearly means something else.

    Like

    • Perhaps christians are a good example of why love is the closest thing to hate and vice versa? Or maybe they only love christians? Or maybe they can use the bible to justify whatever they want? Hell I don’t know!

      Like many, I can’t work out if SoM is all there, or just entertaining himself.

      Thanks for the visit and comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. davidprosser says:

    Ee, but we do have some fun don’r we. As a rule I try to be nice to everyone and in the main I remain calm and let the other idiot get frustrated. It doesn’t always work. I was on the Gather Social Site for a while and met a truly nice Pastor from the home of Bob Marley who was not at all upset by my lack of belief in Christianity and was happy to engage in conversation. On the other hand there was a Pastor from the U.S. who was truly obnoxious. I’d gone in to give the opinion of a non-believer to some snide remark he made but done so in a respectful manner. He hit the roof and it was fun watching the steam coming out of his ears, but he was the most vile person I’ve come across who actually wished me dead.
    I have my other site called The Buthidars where I ask people to leave their religion at the door and engage nicely with anyone else who visits the site. When I ran the same group on Facebook I was attacked by a Christian ‘lady’ who accused me of stealing souls by recruiting Christians to my new religion. I think many Christians are non-tolerant of anything outside Christianity and some of anything outside their own version of Christianity, namely the Church who attend the funerals of gay soldiers to mock the deceased. Christian Fundamentalism is alive and well.
    I see no reason why others can’t follow your lead of showing some respect to a person you’re addressing but it becomes very difficult when respect is a one way street.
    xxx Huge Hugs Kate xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sonel says:

    I always wonder what fun some people get by insulting others when they don’t agree to them? It’s petty. We all have the right to believe what we want and if someone doesn’t believe the same, it’s none of their business. The only thing I have in common with most of my fellow bloggers is photography, nature and animals. I have no interest in religion or politics and find it quite boring to say the least. It’s amazing to see how scared believers are of us non-believers. It seems we do know something they don’t. LOL!

    Like

  10. Kate, excellent post. Rebecca gained my utmost respect. She had commented on my blog back when I posted that video and blog post of that NYC pastor. Rebecca said she was working on a reply/post but I wasn’t aware that she had posted one until you brought her to my attention in another post. I read her post and then the comments from that deeply indoctrinated woman. As Christopher Hitchens eloquently put it — “men invented god so they could own women.”

    That said, I rarely go to Christian websites unless I’m either invited by them, or someone has brought those blogs to my attention — and rarely do I post on them unless they are questioning/doubting their faith and asking for advise. If Christians want to write about how their god of choice makes them feel oh so fuzzy wuzzy, fine. But when they start posting, sugarcoating, about how women are commanded to submit and be ruled over by men, and/or that unbelievers and the LGBT are wicked and unrighteous, I see their (believers) loss of humanity. It is deeply disheartening because this indoctrination has a negative impact on society and the overall well being of women, children, unbelievers and the LGBT community, as the studies shows.

    I’ve been in their shoes (believer) — I know how powerful indoctrination can be. In a lot of ways, being a deconvertee is a lot like someone who quick smoking cigarettes. The stench of cigarette smoke is even more disgusting than it was before you ever picked up the habit. I think that may be why a lot of unbelievers, who once believed, take off the gloves. There can be triggers, too. When believers cross boundaries of unethical proportions, we should speak up.

    Like

    • Yah! (Weh?) is that your last post I meant to read and didn’t get round to it because… shit. I am so behind.

      Oh wait, thank you. Forgot that, got distracted because yes,

      Rebecca deserves respect not crap. She is far more articulate than I was at her age, well on the Internet anyway 😉 and she has the same dreams, ideals, and aspirations, why should she not realise them? Just as I did.

      Hey, you were the one who told me to speak out about all the religious bullshit. That I was apathetic? Not that I am. But our original discussion was about what value I could add. And you suggested I could. With believers no. Elsewhere, maybe.

      Anyway I’ve never smoked. Did you?

      Liked by 1 person

      • I think you popped in briefly on that post (of mine), if I recall. I agree with you — Rebecca certainly is more articulate than I was at her age or even at my age now. She definitely seems to be more patient than I am, as well. Regarding adding value, you most certainly do and even if you think you don’t add value with believers, you just never know who’s reading your comments, lurkers, who don’t give feedback but would consider what you said as fuel for thought. I’ve met several people online, once believers and lurkers, who admitted that they got value from people, such as yourself, who were never indoctrinated. You bring a unique (and valuable) perspective to the discussion.

        I did smoke very briefly when I was young and stupid. It is utterly disgusting and nauseating for me to be around cigarette smoke.

        Like

        • Two days later, I’m finally answering this. I think it’s interesting looking over generations how differently people act/react, speak, read and write at certain ages. In some ways it would be nice to be so confident, aware and knowledgeable at a young age. In others, I wouldn’t trade. The ever pervasive nature of the Internet and mobile phones has totally altered life for so many. I loved travelling the world without any of that distraction.

          Thanks for that. There is some screwed-up thinking that goes: feminist=lesbian + man-hating + atheist, resulting in a grand total of one very sad miserable unattractive (in terms of sexual worth, natch) lonely old woman. Even I can be motivated to prove that isn’t the case, and that women can aspire and achieve more than being some submissive helpmeet a la bible.

          The only perspective I can add is that religion plays no part in my life and never has done apart from some token studies at school. By which I don’t spend time pondering it which Christians seem to believe. What’s the point in thinking about something (ie a deity) that doesn’t exist? I’ve got important things to think about: what am I cooking for lunch? (spaghetti sort of bolognaise with TVP), where’s my next book edit coming from? who hasn’t paid their block fees and what will I do about it? when shall I call the next management committee meeting? can I put off the dusting for another day? etc etc. small but important things. That’s what life is about. Not living in never-never land.

          Gib has finally come out with some anti-smoking laws. I suspect feet were dragged because it is a big part of the economy because there is no duty, hence fags are cheap. Still no incentive to smoke but a lot of people here do. More and more people seem to be giving up in their 40s/50s though as they realise the damage it is doing to their health. Growing up with smoking parents was enough to put me off it. It was even more noticeable when I’d gone to university (mixed with a non-smoking crowd) and came home to a disgusting smoky house. I came back (married) from Aus, and one evening me and the new husband walked into the sitting room with clothes pegs on our noses 😀

          Like

  11. Correction: *quite smoking

    Like

  12. I can’t really frequent any fundagelical Christian blogs anymore. The inability to distinguish between attacks on ideas and people really gets to me. It’s been a clumsy discourse with them, and I feel that I’m enabling them to rely on their petty rhetorical devices (like claiming divine inspiration, using Biblical support when it’s not relevant, repeated phrases IN ALL CAPS, etc.).

    Even as recently as a couple months ago, I thought I should at least attempt to build a bridge. What I didn’t realize is that reasonable Christians would search out my blog. To those I feel like I’m indebted, because it shows that people who disagree on the nature of reality can at least remember our common humanity.

    Finally, Ms. Duane used a lot of quotation marks. When I read her comments, this video sprang to mind:

    Enjoy!

    Like

    • That’s a very accurate verbal portrayal of her style. If only he could have indicated upper case too 😀

      I think differentiating between ideas and the people espousing (or maybe spouting) them is difficult for many of us. For my part, I think religion is loopy. I think the ideas are loopy. Do I think the people believing those ideas are loopy? Well, to some extent yes. But as I’ve never been indoctrinated, or heavily exposed to any of it, and made up my mind relatively young without opposition, I also accept I will never (thankfully) understand their perspective. But I can learn from people like you, Ruth, and Victoria for example, who have been there and rejected those beliefs.

      I am amazed at their vicious language and incredible prejudice. I have never met anyone like that. My Jewish neighbours and my Catholic neighbours don’t stick their religion down my throat.

      The fundy blogs are predictable. No doubt they say the atheist ones are too. But conversations are like something between Alice and the White Queen. Or was it the Red Queen? No matter, as you say, they resort to God created all and his word is right. He commands my life, I am just a brainless dipshit, etc etc.

      Some of the bloggers I visit, and who visit mine are religious (well they would be given the high percentage of christian believers in USA) but they don’t add their religion to their blog posts or comments. Religion is a personal thing. Or should be.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. EllaDee says:

    The latest post displayed via the link to my blog demonstrates beautifully where my comfort zone is at… It’s only on Clouds Moving In that I read anything remotely out of my comfort zone… I have my niche “clean food” soapbox I step up on occasionally and topic about which I’m constantly learning but of “vegetarian, left-wing, atheist, feminist, environmentalist, veganic gardening, animal rights supporting, childfree women” or religious topics, on most I can’t comment with any degree of expertise, and the measure I can on others is simply personal perspective rather than informed. So I mostly shut up or don’t go there. One of my considerations is except for extreme circumstances, and some of those you cite are that, I don’t, as the G.O. tells me, see black & white or even grey… I find your posts, the commenters and often others to which you refer entertaining. What I don’t find entertaining and am ill equipped to deal with is fanaticism. What I find reprehensible is when people, otherwise lacking skill, patience or integrity resort to personal attacks.

    Like

    • But the personal perspective is valid. What isn’t valid, like the personal, rude and insulting attacks, is telling someone they are wrong based on the fact that they hold a different view. And I seem to see a lot of that. Anyway, some of Clouds is within your CZ, ie consumerism and recycling, which in turn are part of the bigger environmental picture.

      Thanks. We aim to bring you a varied news service … and, a bit like I’m lucky with good neighbours, I seem to be lucky with interesting commenters 🙂

      I’m not sure of the added value of continuing discussions where people are at opposite ends of the spectrum, so often it’s easier to walk away and indulge myself on here.

      Like

  14. Ruth says:

    Sometimes it really is like a train wreck. You know you should look away but you can’t help staring. I try not to get caught up in the arguments, but there are times when the ideas are just so…wrong headed. I guess I think if they heard another perspective it might change their minds. There are some people that there’s just not a snowball’s chance in hell.

    Like

    • You mean Diriculous or whatever he’s called will change his POV? I think he’s the snowball from hell.

      I do find them interesting sometimes as spectator sport, and I confess to enjoying the performances by the Terrible A Twins. While Ark’s language may be somewhat colourful, he often says what I’m thinking. Especially when someone has just recited Genesis to Corinthians in a long exposition, and he writes ‘Dickhead’.

      Partner asked me last night why I was wasting my time on it. I didn’t have a sensible answer. I would have been better off reading a book I’m evaluating for an award. But it’s like the school playground. Oooh, have you seen who was banned/moderated? Who? Where? Why? Do tell. etc. While I may have a sneaky lurk now and again, I shall avoid joining in the train wrecks, because after all, it is basically a waste of time.

      Like

  15. Lots of interesting conversations here. Have to wonder why so many can’t just live and let live. Seems so easy. Guess have to admire your tolerance for reading so many viewpoints. I have to be nice to some much in real life every day, I’m sometimes to tired to see more when I’m trying to relax by reading blogs….if I have one more “Have a blessed day” snarled at me with a sneer at the end of a customer service encounter – when you know it’s either thoughtless habit or passive aggressive – I’ve just had it. Saying phrases as a social formality instead of with real meaning…it is also confrontational – and the speaker knows it…
    And I don’t want to be greeted by any “blessed day” by a greeter at any store (It’s ruled their right under freedom of speech , but how appropriate in this community and times?)
    .Religious words misused, used for appearances/commerce, or used to show how good you are – Now that’s what a sin would have been when I was a kid (giggles)
    You get them, roughseas. Too annoying for me
    (Oh, I had one uncle 80’s get married the second time in the nursing home to a charming widow…he outlived that one, too. And then there’s the uncle that was over 90 – the “younger woman”(60’s) left after a few weeks – he was quite active farmer, lovely sense of humor, and expected a wife as well as a driver. Don’t count out the old guys…And none of them ever used diapers…)(add more hefty laughs here)

    Like

    • Read this and forgot to comment. Reading opposite viewpoints is a real eyeopener. But a depressing one too. I don’t think anyone’s wished me ‘blessed day’. I was slightly puzzled years ago to be wished ‘have a nice day’. Seriously, what is wrong with good morning/good day/afternoon/evening and goodbye? Instead of false bonhomie and insincere wishes.

      Maybe the old ones were the best ones …?

      Like

  16. disperser says:

    I checked out a few posts . . . until I hit poetry.

    Like

I appreciate any comments you leave, so long as they are relatively polite. And thanks for reading.

