In which WordPress tells you how to proofread and edit your copy

Accuracy is about more that just verifying the spelling of an email address,

I rest my case, m’lud/ma’am.

Sorry this would have been the genetic engineering post but I couldn’t resist this class one.

Head on over to read words of wisdom on The Daily Post.

I might add after my helpful comment πŸ˜‰ it was changed extremely quickly.

And the response was within minutes – before I could even finish this post!

Not at all! I think the universe requires that a post about proofreading contain an error, to contain the author’s hubris . Thanks for the catch!

Um, contain? or contains? Hey ho.

And as this is a light-hearted educational post, here is some relevant music:

About roughseasinthemed

I write about my life as an English person living in Spain and Gibraltar, on Roughseas, subjects range from politics and current developments in Gib to book reviews, cooking and getting on with life. My views and thoughts on a variety of topics - depending on my mood of the day - can be found over on Clouds. A few pix are over on Everypic - although it is not a photoblog. And of course my dog had his own blog, but most of you knew that anyway. Pippadogblog etc
This entry was posted in blogging, journalism, musings, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to In which WordPress tells you how to proofread and edit your copy

  1. A little ‘bad’ is always good :>)

    Like

  2. cobbies69 says:

    Perfect every time,, I think maybe, mostly, sometimes, hardly πŸ˜‰

    Like

  3. EllaDee says:

    Too funny that you found, and pointed out a typo.
    Typos usually bug me but in blogging not so much, where I read for content rather than form.
    For posts I usually draft in, or run a draft through Word spell checker but sneaky typos slip through which of course are unnoticed until after I hit publish. Thank God there is a post publish edit facility.
    The worst of my typos are in comments. That is usually because I’ve enjoyed the post so much I type at a speed beyond my skills in my excitement to hit reply!

    Like

    • Well it was a bit snipey really. But if I didn’t do it, I’m sure someone else would so I thought I would get in there quickly and claim the prize!

      It doesn’t bother me in other peoples’ posts but I do go back and correct mine when I spot them. However, when you are telling everyone else how to write, as WordPress does, it’s a good idea to check your own copy.

      I never use spellcheckers. Dodgy words come up highlighted anyway, and the problem with spellcheckers is exemplified in the example on this post – that is perfectly valid, even though it makes no sense, and should be than. Never mind a spellchecker, what is really needed is a sense checker. You could write a sentence of gibberish but if all the words were spelt correctly there would be no problem.

      Similarly grammar. The first contain in her reply should be contains because ‘post’ is singular, so therefore the corresponding verb should be ‘contains’. I’m not so fussed about comments being accurate, it’s easy to make a quick slip, especially when you don’t have the option to edit your comment on someone else’s blog.

      I’ve also learned to write long comments in textedit (Apple writing software) in case WordPress eats my comment.

      Like

  4. I think you nailed them ‘Game, set & Match’! Well done. Another reason why you will never be FPd

    Like

    • Believe it or not, I did hesitate. But on asking my blogging consultant whether I shd be Ms NitPicky, he said Go For It. So I went.

      They probably have a roughseas voodoo doll. Or at least my picture on a virtual dartboard πŸ™‚ Anyway all their suckarse comments are totally boring, they should be grateful for me livening up their boring responses from time to time.

      I see they have another totally boring selection of WPLongForm posts up for our delectation. The reviews of them sound so sleep-inducing I can’t even be bothered to have a look and write a skit on them.

      Like

  5. Map of Time says:

    Snickering over this one. My grammar is not the best in the world so I try to avoid bringing up any typos or grammatical errors in others, but this is funny.

    Like

    • I’m not sure I’ve ever published a post that I’ve not gone back and edited, so I’m not claiming to be perfect. I hate proofreading on screen.

      One of my shorter posts this! I will offer tips on blogging and writing from time to time, I think being qualified and working in journalism, PR and graphic design makes me as capable of doing so as the WP team. But when I do write blogging/writing posts, they are the ones I really proof at least 20 times over before hitting publish. I would recommend WP staff may wish to consider the same approach.

      The acknowledgement was polite and not snotty, I know I would have been seething! I was tempted to say and don’t overuse pretentious words like hubris when pride, conceit, arrogance work just as well, but I thought less was more in this instance.

      Pleased to give you a snicker πŸ™‚

      Like

I appreciate any comments you leave, so long as they are relatively polite. And thanks for reading.

