Virtual addiction

You might as well
have put
crack cocaine
in my tea,
he said

I’d only asked him
to be my neighbour
in Farmville

Did I ask him to play?

And later,
he wondered
am I addicted
to you?

No.
You never were
But perhaps
I was just a virtual illusion
that you quit.

Note: I too quit Farmville, and Facebook as well. Nor do I tweet, tumbl or whatever else. You too, can do it.

About roughseasinthemed

I write about my life as an English person living in Spain and Gibraltar, on Roughseas, subjects range from politics and current developments in Gib to book reviews, cooking and getting on with life. My views and thoughts on a variety of topics - depending on my mood of the day - can be found over on Clouds. A few pix are over on Everypic - although it is not a photoblog. And of course my dog had his own blog, but most of you knew that anyway. Pippadogblog etc
This entry was posted in friendships, internet, poetry, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Virtual addiction

  1. kvennarad says:

    But you still wordpress. πŸ™‚

    M
    __________
    Marie Marshall
    author/poet/editor
    Scotland

    Like

  2. Ha! I, too, have quit Farmville and other virtual addictions of mine. πŸ˜€ Great poem!

    Like

    • Thank you for your comment and your visit. I think your poetry takes rather more effort than the words I throw out and I am impressed with your excellent writing.

      I only ever write so-called poems when the idea flits into my head and I catch it quickly before it flits out again. But if it gets an idea across and someone identifies with it, it has served its purpose.

      Like

  3. Don’t talk to me about Farmville, I’m a addict and am trying to wean myself off it. Hate the stupid game. Virtual addition is a bad, bad thing. It’s hard to be a closet Farmville addict as it makes sure you irritate and demand items from others to play it. πŸ™‚ Love the poem.

    Like

    • Farmville has a lot of answer for! Check out the link below. I actually spent serious hours on it. It is competitive in a non-competitive way. I wanted that big farm, all the mastery signs before everyone else! Sure, it’s not competitive. Much. I think I quit when they introduced the New England Farm – the one with the lighthouse? – because you couldn’t get bigger without paying out Real Money. Not on my agenda.

      I have to say, I met some great people through FV though. But, here today, and gone tomorrow.

      I guess you can only ever understand my words above (ie the so-called poem) if you have got sucked into Farmville. So thanks for your nice words too. Chucking facebook is the easy way out. Very cold turkey!

      https://cloudsmovingin.wordpress.com/2009/11/16/just-another-addiction/

      Like

  4. Nice social comment! Have never done Farmville myself. I Facebook because that is the best way of keeping in touch with my kids!

    Like

    • More of an anti-social comment as it is a no-no against social media. A lot of people FB because of family and a lot of others don’t want their family to see their posts πŸ˜€ I think the problem arises when you are on there ‘quickly’ and then spend hours getting sucked into something else. Unlike blogging πŸ˜‰

      Like

  5. EllaDee says:

    I love the opening lines. That poem says a lot. The virtual world is beguiling. It gives us the illusion we control our world. It provides community, when community isn’t so convenient in real life, these days… but then like Farmville, Facebook, gaming, the virtual world wants your time, your money.. and sometimes people give it their soul trying to keep their fixes coming. Sort of like drugs really. I guess that’s the criteria of all addictions. I selectively FB but I do enjoy my WordPress community. I hope to keep a time & place for it it in my life, value adding, just as it does now.

    Like

    • Much of my ‘inspiration’ comes from the words of others. The challenge then becomes to fit them into something – hopefully meaningful – with words of my own, without too much dissonance, although I think a little is interesting. I think it is hard to be selective on FB (plus I don’t like the lack of privacy ethics either). It is much easier to be selective with WP. Find quality blogs, read them and comment on some. Find rubbish blogs, don’t read them.

      Like

  6. Vicky says:

    Excellent poem, and how true it is too.
    I was also addicted to FarmVille, but managed to wean myself off two years ago, while away on a holiday without Internet access.
    As for ‘High and mighty’ Facebook, who the **** do they think they are? I deactivated my account after they banned a video of mine that I’d attached a royalty free jingle to.

    Like

    • Thank you V. You quit the farming before I did. Have to say I did like my farm, my virtual cottage in the country with my rescued animals πŸ˜‰

      I had so many spats on FB (there’s a surprise) that it wasn’t actually too difficult to chuck. I think whatever our reasons for leaving (yours was a good one), it’s a shame more people don’t do it. Mass media v individuals huh?

      Like

  7. bluonthemove says:

    I use facebook quite a lot, but I don’t play any of the games. Its just a means of keeping in touch with friends. Have you ever looked at the gibbook com site which is a sort of facebook just for folk in Gib ?

    Blu

    Like

    • I did look at the Gibthing. There was also a separate page/group set up when MV Fedra ran aground off Europa Point as virtually all of Gibraltar was up there taking photos of the disintegrating ship and the rescue(s).

      I keep in touch with people by email, the odd letter, or not at all. Everyone I knew on FB was virtual, and even the two people I had actually met, originally came via the internet. Each to their own as to how they choose to use it – or not.

      Like

  8. I like your poem and the way you touched on friendship (or perhaps love), social media, and addiction in so few words.

    I average less than ten minutes a day on my Facebook news feed and adding stories to my Sparks In Shadow page, and ten or less trying to think of something interesting to say or respond to on Twitter. Those who insist that social media is a necessary thing these days for career-seekers, especially artists and those creating a brand, say that’s not enough time and no wonder I don’t see much effect. Those who hate the time-draining qualities of it say I’ve got the right idea or I should abandon these sites altogether. So far I’m just touching bases and trying to stop my head from spinning. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks Sparks. An extremely incisive summary of what I was aiming to convey, although the last part could be interpreted in different ways, depending on the reader.

      I really couldn’t get on with Twitter, sort of like Facebook with pix, although I know you can do links. The less buttons to click the better.

      I’m not convinced with the necessity of using social media to build presence. I think if you are a recognised brand it works, or if you have an extremely wide network, and open pages, then it may do, but as none of those applied to me, it’s not a priority. What annoyed me when I was on there was posting up a link to a new blog post and then getting the comments on the FB link!

      I find more useful and valuable info on blogs (eg self publishing) but I don’t like the sound-bite superficiality of social media sites. Blogging can be equally as time-intensive as say aimless chat on FB/Twit or playing games, but it suits me. I wouldn’t have started attempting short poems had the work of other bloggers not inspired me. I did start a fiction blog a few years ago, but I’ve not been back to it for a while, but I don’t publicise that, it’s just really for my entertainment from time to time.

      Like

  9. Good poem, I enjoyed it. I didn’t realise you wrote poetry.

    I’ve never fallen into the clutches of Farmville, but some years ago I spent far too much time on a game called ‘Bejewelled’. I went cold turkey at some point and now limit myself to the odd bit of Spider Solitaire/reading/writing/living. Such games are incredibly addictive. So are some people, be they virtual or not. *smiles*.

    – sonmi upon the Cloud

    Like

    • I don’t! He was someone who made me play with words a bit. Re-reading this, I enjoyed it though.

      I read about bejewelled. Never went there. I do have pangs about my poor farm though. I designed it exactly as my dream farm. That’s the capture.

      I also did scrabble with the above person. Words are not enough to describe.

      Virtual people are more addictive. They exist. But only in your head.

      Float happily.

      Liked by 1 person

I appreciate any comments you leave, so long as they are relatively polite. And thanks for reading.

