The Rock

It started
with a small fissure
in the rock

Imperceptibly
over time
the impact of wind and rain
started the erosion

Until one day
that tiny crack
had suddenly become
a gaping chasm

But we built a bridge
across that irreparable split

Storms and tempests
squalls and hurricanes
blew away the bridge
and widened the gap between us

The rock of our friendship fell away
leaving a gulf
that can’t be bridged.

Note:
I could have ended on an upbeat note saying there are always boats, planes, people can swim, lots of ways to get across that gulf, but it took away from the pathetic atmosphere of pathos 😉

About roughseasinthemed

I write about my life as an English person living in Spain and Gibraltar, on Roughseas, subjects range from politics and current developments in Gib to book reviews, cooking and getting on with life. My views and thoughts on a variety of topics - depending on my mood of the day - can be found over on Clouds. A few pix are over on Everypic - although it is not a photoblog. And of course my dog had his own blog, but most of you knew that anyway. Pippadogblog etc
This entry was posted in friendships, life, musings, poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Rock

  1. Very good – one of your best I think!

    Like

  2. Vicky says:

    I really like that, it’s very poignant and heartfelt.
    Definitely the best yet.

    Like

  3. EllaDee says:

    One of the consolations is, it’s made for very good poetry. I like your use of the rock as an analogy. Clever.

    Like

    • Thank you. I did warn there was a poem coming, partly because I had conceived it a while ago. I don’t know where the rock analogy came from, but given where I live and its name, it seemed so appropriate.
      Normal ranty service will be resumed now I have this out of my head 😀

      Like

  4. free penny press says:

    I agree with the others.. you expressed the erosion of friendship very nicely..

    Like

  5. Kev says:

    I think the ending you chose is more realistic; more a fact of life.

    Like

I appreciate any comments you leave, so long as they are relatively polite. And thanks for reading.

