Let them eat cupcakes*

Am I really the only person in the world who does not have a sweet tooth?

If I read one more boring blog post about delicious ‘cupcakes’ I will throw myself out of the window.

OK, I won’t read the posts, because I don’t really want to a) fall on the pavement b) end up in the rubbish bins.

But still these blogs posts, appear, endlessly, everywhere.

In the midst of serious problems worldwide, what better to do than write about ‘cupcakes’.

What is it with the world that this is the most important thing to write about?

And what is it with changing the English language to call them cupcakes?

Fair enough for Americans to call them that, but why do English people suddenly want to call them cupcakes?

Stupid name. They are buns and they go in bun trays. That’s why bun trays are called bun trays.

Here is a rather fine wiki quote:

In North England and Ireland, a bun is also a name given to small cakes, e.g. sponge buns, currant buns and butterfly buns.

When I were a lass and came home from school, if I was lucky my mother had been baking.

There were butterfly buns, which were plain sponge buns with the middle hollowed out and filled with nice sickly buttercream. The middle was cut in half and the two wings were perched aside the sickly mound like a butterfly’s wings, hence the name.

Sometimes the top was just taken out and we had fresh cream and jam (Tiptree’s Little Scarlet of course) in the centre, with the tiny top sitting neatly above like a hat.

Then there were currant buns, which my father called queen cakes. I thought they were boring. No cream or buttercream.

And there were chocolate ones too. But not this trendy fudge stuff. Rowntree’s cocoa chucked in the sponge mix. And in the buttercream too. Delicious.

There were other toppings. Sometimes my mother would melt some dark chocolate and coat each cake with that. Yum.

Or put horrible icing on and hundreds and thousands or those vile silver balls. Not so yum.

Either way, those delicious cakes of my childhood didn’t look remotely like the bouffant hair-do cupcakes of today.

Perhaps I can spearhead the movement for a fairy cake revival?

Far more interesting than writing about crass political decisions, invasion of other countries, world bankers ripping everyone off, environmental devastation, political prisoners, rape, abuse and murder of women, torturing and killing animals for fun (and for food, fur and clothing, as well as far as that goes), I’m tired even thinking about those terribly dull issues.

Let’s hear it for the fairy cake revival eh? πŸ™‚

* Title attributed to Marie Antoinette, whether or not she was talking about brioche or cake before any pedants start is totally irrelevant. There was no bread to eat and she was talking about them eating something with more ingredients and more expensive. She would probably have liked cupcakes.

About roughseasinthemed

I write about my life as an English person living in Spain and Gibraltar, on Roughseas, subjects range from politics and current developments in Gib to book reviews, cooking and getting on with life. My views and thoughts on a variety of topics - depending on my mood of the day - can be found over on Clouds. A few pix are over on Everypic - although it is not a photoblog. And of course my dog had his own blog, but most of you knew that anyway. Pippadogblog etc
This entry was posted in animal rights, animals, environment, environmentalism, food, life, musings, thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Let them eat cupcakes*

  1. Vicky says:

    Oh wow, butterfly buns/cakes whatever they’re called, my mum was always baking them too.
    Bring back Yorkshire Parkin I say πŸ™‚

    Like

    • My grandmother made superb parkin (didn’t all our grandmothers?) – moist but light and dry, spicy but not too much so. Just, superb. I don’t ever remember my mother making it for bonfire night, my grandma always just threw it together and it came out perfectly πŸ˜€

      Anyway, this is a cupcake revolt, but I’m happy to add parkin to the fairy cake revival movement.

      Like

      • Vicky says:

        Lol, bonfire night was always parkin night. πŸ™‚
        I’m totally behind you with the cupcake revolt, they’re everywhere, even magazines on them.
        There was something on the news the other day about Americanisms creeping into the British language with exam papers, and cupcakes was one of the words mentioned.

        Like

        • I have no issue with people having their own language. They can have sidewalks and trunks and fenders and all the rest of it. But, is there one good reason why we should change our awesome language? πŸ˜‰ Next we’ll be having to write ass instead of arse.

          Gotta hand it to the British. Great at being so unpatriotic or proud of their (oops our) heritage. Myself, I have no intentions of saying ass, cupcakes, awesome (apart from ironically) or anything else. I think idiomatic linguistic differences are worth keeping. Or perhaps the desire to use American language betrays more than meets the eye (and ear)?

          Sorry, this started off as a kick cupcake revolt revive fairy cakes movement in the face of other more important global topics.

          Like

  2. Totty says:

    Oh maaa Gaaaad! You have Parking in you country? That is just awesome!!!

    Like

    • Aw perhaps pawkin’? or paaaarkin’?

      To be serious, I take it you had parkin in Lancashire?

      Like

      • Totty says:

        We probably did, but I don’t remember having it. Sponge buns and rock cakes were the limit of my mother’s baking prowess, although she was a dab hand at treacle toffee, peanut brittle and buttered brazils. She had an incredibly sweet tooth (that I did not inherit) and in her later years she wore out two sets of dentures crunching Fox’s Glacier Mints and Boiled Fruits. Her dentist decided that she had better have porcelain molars in her third set, and these survived the onslaught…until they were eaten in turn by my dog.

        Like

        • Looks like it is more our side of the Pennines than yours, but apparently it does/did exist in Red Rose land.
          http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parkin_(cake)
          Sounds like your family (mother and dog) liked crunchies?

          Like

          • Totty says:

            I’ll tell you the tale; just before we moved to Spain we were staying at my mother’s house, and one night we were already in bed before she came home. About half an hour after she arrived, we heard prolonged laughter and remarked that there must be something good on TV.
            The next morning we heard the reason; Mum had called for fish and chips on her way home, and having eaten them, and not having an audience, had removed her teeth and put them on the arm of her chair. When she came back from pouring a second cup of tea, Max was stretched out in his usual spot chewing on his marrowbone, or so she thought, until she asked him if it was good and he brought it over for her to share, dropping half her top plate into her lap….it says a lot about my Mum that she found it funny, saying it was her own fault for not sharing with him in the first place!

            Like

          • Just LOL!! You could blog about that. You too busy right now? PS. Dogs ALWAYS need fish, chips, teacakes.

            Like

          • Totty says:

            No, I can’t really claim to be busy, just sitting here reading, crocheting granny squares for a 40th birthday blanket for a daughter and watching The Shell Seekers with Bossman. I’m turning into a couch potato!

            Like

          • Ha!! Shell Seekers?? 😦 Old age huh? Except I am there with you and younger πŸ˜€

            Like

          • Vicky says:

            Ha ha, that is hilarious.
            What a wicked sense of humour your mum must have had. πŸ˜†

            Like

          • Bit like Totty!

            Like

  3. EllaDee says:

    Food of the past again, a topic everyone including me loves as much as I don’t get the cupcake phenomenon either. OTT icing = yuck. If I have cake, I just want something moist, crumbly & my flavour preference – lemony, I can have with a cup of tea. I hate that the world is complicated by those “dull issues”, but a respite from thinking about them & the foray into a simple & fun topic does the world of good πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I could get quite carried away by the cupcake thing and write a really long essay on it. I do think it succinctly symbolises society right now. Superficial, sickly, the latest craze, greed, too much, mass-produced etc etc.

      As for cake, I don’t eat it now, but I did eat fruit cake from time to time, like you say, moist crumbly, not too sweet. I even made carrot cake a few times – no icing, needless to state.

      I did feel slightly guilty writing this tongue-in-cheek post. But yet another picture of boring cupcakes came up on my reader and I hit the roof!! I feel like a heretic because I don’t subscribe to the CC mantra. Anyway, enough, boring posts about dull issues will shortly resume πŸ˜‰

      Like

I appreciate any comments you leave, so long as they are relatively polite. And thanks for reading.

