Retirement

It used to be
back then
there was space for me
in your life.

But new and different
routines and considerations
gently edged me out.

A passing daily thought
is all I merit
now you have more time.

About roughseasinthemed

I write about my life as an English person living in Spain and Gibraltar, on Roughseas, subjects range from politics and current developments in Gib to book reviews, cooking and getting on with life. My views and thoughts on a variety of topics - depending on my mood of the day - can be found over on Clouds. A few pix are over on Everypic - although it is not a photoblog. And of course my dog had his own blog, but most of you knew that anyway. Pippadogblog etc
This entry was posted in life, musings, poetry, thoughts, writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Retirement

  1. But I thought you said you couldn’t write poetry? I’m giving up now. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. Vicky says:

    I REALLY like that.
    So simple, but so true, and the words could be used in many a situation.

    Like

  3. I used to go to work
    It was hard and it was long
    Now Retirement is a perk
    And Work’s a distant pong!

    Like

  4. free penny press says:

    Oh I like.. alot.. I however do not read this as about “work” ..
    especially like the 2nd stanza. that could actually stand on it’s own.
    πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you. I have to confess to dreading your critique, (!!) so appreciate your encouraging words. I think fiddling around with the words and the lines could take forever, so ended up writing it pretty much as it fell out of my head.
      It could be addictive though, thinking of exactly the right word, the right way to break the lines, the stanzas, mmm
      Must be your fault with the Sunday Po posts!!

      Like

      • free penny press says:

        I am far from an expert at poetry but have been fortunate to have read alot, had some great critique from some good writers. I never edit, pre-plan a poem. ever. I just write. some people can do that (I think for more formatted pies ie: sonnets, etc that is required) but for me if I try to force it, well, it just falls flat..
        You did good πŸ™‚

        Like

        • Totally agree with the forcing aspect. The words were milling around in my head last night so it seemed as easy to write them down this morning before I forgot them. Blog posts are similar.

          We didn’t do free verse at school, so it is quite interesting to try and capture an idea, an image, an emotion that way instead of rhyme and rhythm.

          But thanks again.

          Like

      • free penny press says:

        For free verse poetry, I can recommend some poets just so you can see the ease with which their words fall.

        Like

  5. EllaDee says:

    I enjoyed the poem, and read it over and over again to see how it fit me… I assumed retirement would enable me to incorporate more, but maybe not.

    Like

    • Thanks. I think there is a huge difference between having all the hours at your disposal in which to do what you choose (more or less), and having to cram what you choose to do into a few spare hours. I am sure I got far more done when I was working all hours under the sun. I was also younger, stressed, and …..oh and my dial-up meant I didn’t spend hours on the internet either πŸ˜€

      Like

  6. Shalvika P says:

    I LOVE this! I think you just need to be creative and you can spin the words around into wonderful poetry!
    Its amazing and you should try this more often πŸ˜€

    Like

    • Thank you. I like that people can read different interpretations into the way words are put together too. I like a little ambiguity in some poems. I am up to a grand total of six now! – according to the poetry category on the right.

      Like

  7. Short but very expressive.

    Like

I appreciate any comments you leave, so long as they are relatively polite. And thanks for reading.

