Your daily shot of inspiration

I read some shit on WordPress – The Daily Post – but really, they are plumbing the depths.

After starting to write a blog post, the temptations of the internet can easily distract us from the task at hand. Youโ€™re happily typing along when, suddenly, the urge to check Facebook or your email overwhelms you. [Er, no it does not] Your blog post is temporarily put on hold as you reply to emails, check status updates, or Tweet about that cool new product you saw. [I am not fifteen years old]
According to a report released last December by comScore, one in five minutes online are spent on a social networking site. [Not of my five minutes] Rather than viewing social networking sites as one large distraction, try changing your perspective and make them work for use by using them for inspiration.

Look people. Why do you need a source of inspiration? If you are struggling to write something, then just don’t bother.

WordPress is obsessed with trying to get people to spend all their time blogging. Do lay off WP. Please?

If I read one more unoriginal thought generated by the inspiration of the day motivators I swear I will, um, fall asleep.

What I really wanted to complain about was the strange tagging and category thing that goes on.

I categorise something photography, (although I don’t do photography as we all know), it comes up in the photography section. Easy huh? I categorise something Gibraltar and does it come up under the rather hidden Gib section? No. I need to tag it. Sigh.

Speaking of which, why is the same boring blog still the featured Gibraltar blog? No, of course it isn’t mine or else I wouldn’t be complaining.

But, I can say that my dogblog, which I thoughtfully tagged, dogblog, has been the featured dogblog for far too long. [Pippdogblog in case there is still anyone out there who hasn’t read his blog]

So there we have it. One of my blogs isn’t featured, the other is. Either way, the featured blogs need to be changed more often. Easy WordPress. Get on with it and stop faffing around telling people where to put their commas, what photos to post, and how to seek inspiration from FB or Twitter.

Which reminds me, I must write a post advising you all how to write intros.

Kind Regards
Bossy Cloudy Roughseas

About roughseasinthemed

I write about my life as an English person living in Spain and Gibraltar, on Roughseas, subjects range from politics and current developments in Gib to book reviews, cooking and getting on with life. My views and thoughts on a variety of topics - depending on my mood of the day - can be found over on Clouds. A few pix are over on Everypic - although it is not a photoblog. And of course my dog had his own blog, but most of you knew that anyway. Pippadogblog etc
This entry was posted in blogging, journalism, life, media, musings, social media, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Your daily shot of inspiration

  1. Vicky says:

    I think I’m living in my own little bubble here, where do I find the inspiration of the day (not that I want any), and feature blog thingy. Are there any other little gems hidden anywhere that I need to know about?

    Like

  2. http://dailypost,wordpress.com I think
    That is the one that posts inane ideas for what and how to write
    It is also the one that posts the photo challenge of the week that I rarely bother with – it’s a bit too ‘pop’ for me
    At the bottom of the Daily Post page is some even worse stuff, suggestions for inspiration – it’s along the lines of – what did you have for breakfast today (rather FB-ish), what do you think to Spring? do you like chocolate? do you wear Harmony hairspray?

    OK, perhaps I am TTP somewhat but you get the idea.

    As for the featured stuff, when you click on wordpress.com. there is an option under topics to key in a word of your choice, key in Gibraltar and my truly superb and much lauded blog is not featured ๐Ÿ˜ฆ key in dogblog and Pippa’s is! he always was a paw in front of me though ๐Ÿ˜€

    Does any of that make sense?

    Like

    • Vicky says:

      Aha, thank you, still learning ๐Ÿ™‚
      For some reason WP isn’t sending me e-mail on new posts anymore though, so late replying. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Like

      • Didn’t I suggest using the blogs I follow thing rather than clogging up your inbox with endless mails about my blog posts (and the other exclusive few that you follow!) ? WP can delay on that too though, so I just have a nip over to fave blogs, and then if they haven’t written anything I moan away about such idle bloggers not posting anything for my enjoyment ๐Ÿ˜€

        Like

        • Vicky says:

          I’ve added the few I follow into my bookmarks, and also added the blogs I follow.
          No excuse now to miss any now ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

          Like

          • I should have said – when you add them to blogs you follow, you need to click on that and the wordpress thing and it comes up with the ‘home’ site. I don’t usually go into it from there, I use the wordpress.com thing on the links on our pages. Then click on reader (I think they have changed that name recently). Sometimes, maybe from blogs I follow? it has come up with the list, so you need to double click. And then you get the list of new posts. Phew!! If it doesn’t make sense, try it, and see what happens. Seems to have got over its recent delays though, so that is helpful ๐Ÿ™‚

            Like

  3. EllaDee says:

    I ignore all the how to and why to and just write what I want when I want, and also just commented elsewhere that I’ve been find the photo challenge entries in general a bit ho hum.

    Like

    • Quite. (in response to your first comment). But when I am putting off doing something and started reading the advice posts, I never fail to be amazed about a) the trite stuff they put up and b) the amazingly sucky replies they receive. Sort of on the lines of ‘Great post, thank you for telling me to start a sentence with a capital letter and end with a full stop.’ Although come to think of some of the blogs I’ve seen, perhaps there is a need for that after all.

      I’m not into the challenge thing. It’s just not me. And I’m certainly not wasting my time clicking on 346 people’s replies to look at their blog and see their photo of whatever the challenge word is.

      I’ve done it (the weekly WP challenge) a few times in a ‘me’ sort of way. I’ve not titled it ‘Photo challenge’ because I don’t want to title my posts that. I’ve referred to it in a post where I had some appropriate pix, eg the ‘Through’ one where I posted going through different tunnels, in Gib and in Spain. And I did another one, because I actually wanted to put a different spin on it, can’t even remember which that one was. And I did ‘join’ in three challenges in one with this post here ๐Ÿ˜€
      http://roughseasinthemed.wordpress.com/2012/01/27/simple-red-breakfast/?trashed=1&ids=928

      Like

  4. Various ways of looking at this: WordPress (or any other blogging sites) provides an opportunity for ordinary people to communicate with a worldwide readership that they could never have realistically have ever hoped for (that’s where I am) – or WordPress is a cynical business opportunity which selects complete rubbish for what it claims to be the best of the blogs – or the whole thing is completely random and there is no quality selection process at all! Some of the Freshly Pressed content is total crap! I have challenged them on this issue but just get a Stonewall Jackson response! Personally I think your blog should be FPd!

    Like

    • First point is totally valid, and one of WPs advantages is the way it does encourage discussion far better than blogger. You don’t need to receive emails to know that someone has commented, I get a neat orange sign and click to see that you have commented. Great. I don’t even have to open the page to comment (I usually do though).

      I don’t know that it is too much of a cynical business op, but it does select complete rubbish! I’m not convinced it is random. If you look at some of them, they are the sort of blogs that would be chosen by a younger person (IMO) who thinks they are clever and thinking, or amazing photos of Phang Chong or whereever so hence us fuddies get nowhere near. There are some good photo travel shots, and some generally good photos, but I have yet to read a well-written or thoughtful FP post about, well, anything.

      I’m mostly tongue in cheek with my whinges, but the banality of some of it does irritate slightly.

      Thank you. No idea which of my many blogs you mean, but any would do ๐Ÿ˜€ And then I would be able to find something else to complain about! They didn’t pick the right blog or the right post. I remember you saying you had questioned them. Perhaps I may do that too in a bored moment. (of which I have very few so it may be some time).

      Like

  5. Agree this should be FP post. I’m amazed at how those are selected/ featured. I’ve even click on a few that had no more than 1 or 2 “likes” and less than 3 comments when they first appear in Fresh Pressed…of course after a few hours they have tons of remarks and likes. While sometimes there are some good blogs featured, many are just totally bland vanilla posts. Most of my favorite bloggers are never selected…but those writers are writers who don’t seem to have that as a goal.
    And I am stunned at some of the blogging suggestions from WP: so trite, boring, and dull….The writing ideas concept reminds me of school assignments anyway. Thanks, I spent too many years having to write what was needed or assigned by bosses and jobs for that – I’ll think up my own.
    I appreciate WP, but sometimes get the idea that they are pushing viewership over quality
    Please: the “fake awards”, the tagging middle school games, the “challenges”, the endless WP push for comment etiquette and appropriate responses for “likes”? All designed to increase the “clicks” and numbers for WP marketing to advertisers – it is a business.
    OK maybe some people enjoy these – and it is a place for everyone to find a comfortable spot – so I’ll try to be kind
    Enough ranting, but you started it! (glad you did)

    Like

    • You are right, I don’t have it as a goal either. I just gripe occasionally at the tosh that is featured. Being a professional journo prob doesn’t help either.

      I like different blogs, but I confess, I do like the ones where someone appears to think.

      School? Too far ago. One of my better employers taught me to think for myself. Entonces …..

      But yes, I totally agree with your response. Why would I not?

      I wish I had been as smart as one blogpal who says that all rewards are declined. I don’t mind publicising other blogs but as no-one clicks on links – why bother?

      The like thing is interesting. Saves people commenting, so we all leave it up as a like is better than nada huh?

      I have written many better posts that should be FP but thanks anyway. This was just a whinge at some of the poor blogs (IMO) that I read.

      PS, I don’t need kind on here, it ain’t that sort of blog ๐Ÿ™‚ Say what you want. Or maybe you just did.

      Like

      • Oh, not really aiming “kind” at you (I just have to remind myself that you do have other readers – maybe some that appreciate stuff i don’t – so I try to be tolerant and not offend. There are all sorts of blogs from profession companies to kids on WordPress – a interesting jumble..quality varies widely.)
        I sometimes think the “like” is like a calling card: “I was here, and read it” – which is pretty nice. ( Weirdly, didn’t recently WordPress suggest/encourage reciprocating when “liked” or comments were given? It’s like they are establishing rules for communication or something. Parent role? Odd..unless for business reasons?)

        Like

  6. I didn’t think you were ๐Ÿ˜€ But as this is the blog where I sound off and occasionally swear, I accept and am happy that my commenters may wish to do the same. I will even tolerate disagreement with my point of view, although too much dissension, will of course, get censored. I’m sounding like R C Cat here!! Im not reciprocating all the calling cards from commercial sites or people that never comment. If I don’t have anything to say, then yes, it is a useful way of saying, I’ve read it, I liked it, and presumably I’ll be back. I think there are a lot of new bloggers out there – so – maybe they feel the need to be ‘helpful’ ? That’s my kindest take on it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

I appreciate any comments you leave, so long as they are relatively polite. And thanks for reading.

