Do you want another one?

Yes, please, I do. I was always taught to do the please thing unlike my partner who just totally misses it out and still gets what he wants. Without the P word.

In this case, we had gone to stock up at the super, and I was trying to get three bottles of Old Rosie (my addiction to Old Rosie is recited here) for a fiver. Except there were only two bottles on the shelf.

One of the shelf stackers saw me take the forlorn two with a forlorn face.

‘I think I’ve got some in the back,’ she said. ‘I’ll go and look for you.’

Smiles all round.

I stood there for ages. Eventually a bloke came down with a pack of eight Old Rosies.

‘How many do you want?’ he asked.

‘Only one,’ I replied. (One of my more moderate days).

‘Shi….’ – he managed to avoid the T.

Being an assertive sort of person at times, I challenged him on that one.

‘Yes?’ I asked. ‘Shi…..?’

He rolled his eyes and cleared off.

But really people. There is an offer, buy three for a fiver, or they cost you £1.99 each. I am certainly not buying two for four pounds when I can get another bottle for an extra pound coin.

Nice woman offered to get me another from out the back. Surly man looks annoyed that I don’t want to get pissed for Gibraltar and buy all eight.

Hell, this is a supermarket. I want to buy stuff, you are meant to sell me stuff and encourage me to buy. Almost saying shit when I want to buy three ciders instead of two is hardly the way to go.

About roughseasinthemed

I write about my life as an English person living in Spain and Gibraltar, on Roughseas, subjects range from politics and current developments in Gib to book reviews, cooking and getting on with life. My views and thoughts on a variety of topics - depending on my mood of the day - can be found over on Clouds. A few pix are over on Everypic - although it is not a photoblog. And of course my dog had his own blog, but most of you knew that anyway. Pippadogblog etc
This entry was posted in life, musings, public relations, shopping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Do you want another one?

  1. free penny press says:

    Manners don’t cost anything.. Never understood why people in the service industry get upset at the paying consumers request. We (the consumer) keep their business thriving..

    Like

    • My point was that I didn’t ask anyone to go looking for one bottle – the nice assistant asked me. The grumpy one turned up with eight, gave me one with bad grace and stormed back off up the aisle. Ignorant tosser.

      Like

  2. S’eashy for you to shay, … broke my pledge tonight and had some sloe wine fresh off the press.

    The supermarkets, well drop the super, I go to don’t tolerate such bad behaviour. They get round the issue by employing predominantly east europeans. At least I have no idea what they are saying to me although I could guess.

    Like

  3. Vicky says:

    I’ve often wondered, especially when there is a BOGOF offer, how there is always an odd one left on the shelf.
    I’m not condoning his attitude for one minute, but I’ve been on the end of abusive comments from customers and if I hadn’t gone into the stockroom to calm down, the next innocent customer would have got all my guns blazing.

    Like

    • They never seem to do BOGOFs on veggie stuff in Gib 😦 More like BTGIAC – Buy three and get it all cheaper. Like the chicken breasts I wrote about that were £4 each and you bought three for a tenner. (Not that chicken breasts are veggie I might add). I remember the most useful information without even having to look back at my blog posts. They used to do that on tofu, and there was always one or two left, you are right.

      As above in my reply to FPP, I hadn’t even asked for it. And I had waited a long while. I would have bought a different cider to make up the three. Wyld Wood for anyone interested (Weston Organic). For once I wasn’t snotty either, I did laugh – hey we all need to sound off sometimes. Another customer might not have done though. Did you read my paracetamol post where the woman went off endlessly about not being allowed to buy a load of useless drugs? Staff in the SM get paid crap money and do have to deal with cranky customers. But for once, I wasn’t being cranky so there was no need for his attitude. Don’t know why the original woman didn’t bring it out either. Who cares?

      Like

  4. That sounds like a bargain!

    Like

I appreciate any comments you leave, so long as they are relatively polite. And thanks for reading.

