Feedback and The Daily Post

The Daily Post puzzles me.

For those non-WordPress readers of my blog, it is a somewhat difficult-to-find part of the WP set-up. I suppose it is a blog, and describes itself as

‘an experiment in blogging motivation from the folks at WordPress.com. We will post blogging ideas and tips to help you get the most out of your blog.’

WordPress is somewhat obsessed with trying to get people to publish drivel regular posts as often as possible. There is the photo of the week challenge, which isn’t so much a challenge as a word that you have to find a photo for. Hardly difficult.

There are daily prompts on twitter apparently:

Daily Prompts
• When you need a good laugh, who/what do you turn to? http://t.co/pxKN5kx0 19 hours ago
• If you could be an editor for any magazine, which would you choose? http://t.co/kJHJxDag 1 day ago
• Describe what it feels like when the season starts to change. http://t.co/Zo9AI1VO 2 days ago
• Milk, dark, or white chocolate? http://t.co/I7g0S1wY 3 days ago
• Could you pull off a different hair color? http://t.co/FVJPyj4K 4 days ago

Really!!!

What on earth is the point of everyone writing about their chocolate preference, their favourite magazine (because in essence that’s what it would be), and hair colour?? Gah!

If any of the blogs I read posted that crap I would stop visiting. Luckily the blogs I visit don’t need this so-called trivial inspiration, and many of them post every day or couple of days.

Back to The Daily Post. It used to have a nice manual typewriter as its header photo which a lot of us liked and said so, but they haven’t brought it back yet.

But ironically, for a blog with a title like that, the postings are erratic. They certainly aren’t daily. One would think, at the very least, WP should be setting an example if it continues to preach this message of PostADay. You can even get a badge for your blog saying I’m part of PostADay 2012. I think not.

The latest post on The Daily Post is about ‘Feedback.’ Now while it was an interesting post, I thought it was an odd topic for blogging.

Let’s be honest, who is going to ask for or give ‘feedback’ about blog posts?

‘I considered your post about X to be basically well-written and thoughtful. However, I did think you could possibly have added something about Y, and you did miss the interpretation about Z …’ etc boring blah blah blah.

If someone wrote tosh like that on my blog I would be telling them to fuck right off and find another blog to patronise.

That’s not because I am a sensitive flower either. Anyone who has grown up in a newspaper office where your story is criticised in front of the whole office, learns not to be sensitive about what they have written. Newspaper offices are open-plan, and when a news editor/sub-editor/editor thinks your story needs changing – they tell you, in no uncertain terms, and everyone else hears too.

In blogging, I think there is a subtle difference between writing a comment in response to a post that has made you think and you sometimes raise another point, and telling someone how their post could be improved. I think the latter is totally uncalled for.

To me feedback in blogging is pretty simple. I like simple. If you like a post, you tick like. If it inspires you to say something, you write a pertinent comment. If you like the blog sufficiently, you follow it and visit and comment regularly. Easy.

The other positive ways I try to share the love provide feedback, are by linking back (pingbacks), writing up my blogroll with a bit of extra info to say why I like those blogs, and occasionally reblogging. I could reblog if I read something awful and have a nice little rant, but I think that would be pretty churlish. Even for me.

You look at your stats to see how you are doing. If they go up, you aren’t doing badly. If they go down…. maybe you should try a new hair colour, eat more chocolate and change the magazines you read. You can ignore the commercial ‘likers’ and followers but they don’t do any harm. It’s pretty easy to follow someone, keep the window open, and click on like without even looking at the blogpost so to me those are pretty meaningless.

For me, I prefer qualitative blogging feedback, so a few interesting comments, means far more than a load of inane replies and 89 commercial likes. You get the idea. Of course I have now learned on RoughSeas that if I write about a) baked beans and b) going shopping, I will get lots of comments. With which I will eat today’s baked beans, and go shopping and thereupon I will have a ready-written post that will garner a zillion comments.

Here is the post about feedback should you choose to read it.

About roughseasinthemed

I write about my life as an English person living in Spain and Gibraltar, on Roughseas, subjects range from politics and current developments in Gib to book reviews, cooking and getting on with life. My views and thoughts on a variety of topics - depending on my mood of the day - can be found over on Clouds. A few pix are over on Everypic - although it is not a photoblog. And of course my dog had his own blog, but most of you knew that anyway. Pippadogblog etc
This entry was posted in blogging, journalism, life, musings, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Feedback and The Daily Post

  1. Anonymous says:

    I have just read this, grabbing a few moments away from the grind of endless word churning that passes for my daily employment. it was one of those moments where the only realisation is …. I wish I’d said that.

    Like

  2. Well if it provided a few moments of entertainment in a boring office day, I’m pleased about that. I’m not knocking WordPress per se (or I wouldn’t be here) but I don’t think they have The Daily Post and the daily posts sorted properly. And those five silly questions sounded like they were aiming at aimless teenagers, or possibly aimless middle-aged people. Who knows? As for feedback, thank you for your interesting qualitative comment 🙂

    Like

  3. Kyanite Blue says:

    As ever an interesting read – you know me, no condescension meant here :).
    WP’s idea of ‘Feedback’ sounds biazare!
    One ‘Comments’, sometimes positively, some times dis-agreeing etc, sometimes to maintain a friendship, but mostly because you want to share a thought.
    If someone told me how to post, I’d see them off.

    Like

    • Thanks Blue. I snorted on line when I read your last comment. 😀
      To be fair, it’s not so much an ‘official’ WP view, they have commenters who write ‘interesting’ stuff that is meant to motivate people to write and think deep thoughts about their blog posts. It invariably motivates me to come over here and rant about what they have written!
      I think the sharing of thoughts is spot-on. No need for deep analysis with all this stuff. Can you imagine emailing contacts for feedback on every single post? How to lose blogfriends in five seconds flat 😀

      Like

  4. Hey I’m just glad you’re still reading some of my posts (and commenting! 😉 )

    J

    Like

I appreciate any comments you leave, so long as they are relatively polite. And thanks for reading.

