Invading your space

(potential alert if you are easily offended – about – anything really – although why you would be reading here if you were is beyond me)

Browsing through the WordPress sections where they publicise latest blogs, I was looking at the vegan and vegetarian ones, as you do, if you are vegetarian. And you have just written a post within those categories. And, you want to check if your post has come up.

My eye was caught by this word – ‘pescatarian.’

Well, at least they weren’t a fish-eater who claimed to be vegetarian or vegan.

But, I wondered to my little self, why they were writing in the vegetarian and vegan sections? Because to be truthful, who gives a shit about what someone who eats fish thinks? I don’t.

Then I put the synthetic boot on the other foot, and wondered what on earth a proper vegan (rather than me, an aspiring but all too lazy vegetarian) would think about me posting in the vegan section?

Probably, ‘I don’t give a shit about someone who perpetuates the abuse given to cows from the dairy industry.’

Um. I mean, I don’t think that ‘I only eat butter because my partner gets spots from margarine, and the occasional yoghurt was when I got a bad guts’ is really a good enough reason is it?

A bit like, ‘I really need fish because of the high protein and it is very good for me, and I only eat the dead fish that are necessary for my life’. Yes?

There is no difference to the person who has eschewed all of that on a point of principle.

So, why did I post in the vegan section about breakfast which also included references to bacon and eggs and sausages and the lot? Well, because, with the rare exception of the free range organic eggs (preferably mine when the chickens choose to lay), I don’t eat the meat. I prefer a vegan breakfast.

But I wondered if I had offended people, the same way I was annoyed with the fish eater happily posting in the vegan section. I mean, hell’s teeth, you might as well say you eat steak tartare. Eating dead animals is eating dead animals, no more no less. Shouldn’t specific sections be there for people to actually look for something they want to read? Not people who are shamelessly spamming as many sections as possible regardless of whether it is relevant?

And then I wondered what would happen if I wrote something about religion – or in my case lack of – and posted on the religious section? Would fundamental evangelicals get offended by my academic discussion of religion rather than my espousal of pure faith in *insert religious spiritual leader of choice here* ?

I guess so.

Because would I be offended about people bleating on about all the subjects that are dear to my heart and invading my space? Yes.

So WordPress, I wonder if a few guidelines are in order for these tags and categories? They may already be there and I haven’t found them.

Personally I would suggest fisheaters stick to vegetarian infiltration – if they really feel the need to tell people how to eat – but def not the vegan section. Or even better, stick to the dead animals section.

About roughseasinthemed

I write about my life as an English person living in Spain and Gibraltar, on Roughseas, subjects range from politics and current developments in Gib to book reviews, cooking and getting on with life. My views and thoughts on a variety of topics - depending on my mood of the day - can be found over on Clouds. A few pix are over on Everypic - although it is not a photoblog. And of course my dog had his own blog, but most of you knew that anyway. Pippadogblog etc
This entry was posted in animal rights, blogging, breakfast, food, vegan, vegetarian, vegetarianism and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Invading your space

  1. Totty says:

    My daughter Jude and her partner would be classed as pescatarian, but not for any particularly principled reason. She just doesn’t like meat because she has trouble digesting it. Her partner had a double hip replacement at 40 (there hangs another tale…containing cobalt) and was advised to some lose weight before the operation. He ate mainly fish, rice and veg and found he preferred it to an omnivorous diet, so has stuck to it ever since. As for whether pescatarians should be allowed in the same room as vegans and vegetarians; certainly not, and the veggies should be further separated into barn egg eaters and free rangers, who should be further differentiated by their willingness to eat fertilised eggs….or not…ad infinitum…until every one is in their own little egg box, and we can start discussing the merits of cardboard v. plastic..:))

    Like

  2. You crack me up totty 😉 seriously – both LOAOH

    Like

I appreciate any comments you leave, so long as they are relatively polite. And thanks for reading.

