The perfect breakfast

Breakfast is so not my favourite meal. It’s the only meal in the day that I struggle with.

Not that I struggle to eat it, I can just never decide what to have. Nor is it because I am vegetarian.

It was easy when I was a kid. I jumped out of bed in the morning, and dashed downstairs to start my breakfast.

A couple of rashers in the pan and the kettle on to make tea for parents and take it up to them in bed. It wasn’t that I was the perfect daughter, I wanted them out of my face while I was having my breakfast. More to the point, I didn’t want my father’s cigarette smoke in my face, or to be subjected to Radio Leeds.

With the bacon, I added either, mushrooms, tomato, or an egg. But never all three. Occasionally I would have tomato and mushroom, but normally just one item. Because, it actually seemed a better combination to just have the two ingredients, bacon and one other. Simple, but perfect.

And of course, one of my food fetishes – I hate tomato and egg together. Either cold or hot, I think they are vile on the same plate. Tomato quiche would probably be my worst ever meal (after cous cous). One of my most hated school lunches was bacon and egg pie, served – with – tinned tomatoes. Disgusting. The few girls who liked the salty horrid bacon and egg pie were inundated with freebies from the rest of us trying to foist our nasty square onto someone else, and surviving on chips and tinned tomatoes for that particular meal.

So by now, you’ll have worked out I’ve never been a fan of the traditional huge fried breakfast.

And even as a vegetarian, it would be easy to eat fake rashers, sausages, and all the trimmings. We buy Cauldron vegetarian sausages, these are tofu-based and pretty good. Quorn ones are terrible and taste like rubber. There are Quorn rashers, which are tolerable, but I got sick of them. Far better to use tempeh rashers, not available in Gib or anywhere in Andalucรฎa where I shop, so I make my own with fresh tempeh and a quick marinade in soya sauce.

The trouble is, I wake up and wonder – what to eat? I don’t want the greasy fry-up. I don’t like cardboardy cereal, even if it is organic and full of dried fruit, and nuts to ensure your ancient fillings fall out.

I’m not fond of toast either (unlike Pippa) but I will eat it occasionally – but not as my main breakfast – although toasted sandwiches are popular with me at the moment.

We did have a period of eating scrambled eggs – but I got sick of those. I even get fed up with omelettes. A poached egg is OK once in a while, so long as there is lots of vinegar in the water.

Meanwhile five or six cups of tea (currently Assam) into the morning, I am still debating what to eat.

Salad. I so like salad for breakfast. In fact I must be notorious in Mรกlaga railway station for walking into the cafe at 9am and ordering a salad while everyone else is eating churros and toast and sandwiches.

At home, stuffed eggs, or curried eggs and salad are good as well. No greasy fry. No rich buttery scrambled eggs.

Today was – the best, yesterday’s leftovers from the evening meal. This is what breakfast should be. I don’t need to think about it. It is already made. I just heat it up. I don’t care if it is soup, pie (ie pastry), curry, cold pizza, casserole, goulash, the list is endless.

Warmed up shepherd’s pie, some salad with garlicky Indian dressing, and – I even managed a piece of toast.

Truly, the perfect breakfast – for me.

About roughseasinthemed

I write about my life as an English person living in Spain and Gibraltar, on Roughseas, subjects range from politics and current developments in Gib to book reviews, cooking and getting on with life. My views and thoughts on a variety of topics - depending on my mood of the day - can be found over on Clouds. A few pix are over on Everypic - although it is not a photoblog. And of course my dog had his own blog, but most of you knew that anyway. Pippadogblog etc
This entry was posted in breakfast, food, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The perfect breakfast

  1. Kyanite Blue says:

    Still chuckling here as such a good read ๐Ÿ™‚
    I only eat breakfast because it is said to be the most important meal of the day, kicking your system into action, very important if wanting to try loose weight as I always am.
    Like you, what to eat is the question and I debate about it over a large pot of tea Twinnings ‘English Breakfast’ [Assam later in the day]. Sometimes I don’t eat, skipping to ‘Brunch’, other times it is muesli based cereal with fresh fruit & yoghurt, but the other day I had cold pizza – it was delicious and I did actually think of you & Pippa @ the time!

    Like

    • wow!! how similar. Actually yesterday’s tea was an endless pot of – Twining’s English Breakfast!! (loose leaf) – I just felt Assamy today ๐Ÿ˜€

      It takes me that long to decide that it normally is brunch. Fruit is ok – but it isn’t filling enough to charge off and out and Go Do Things.

      At least the rest of the day is easier ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  2. Kyanite Blue says:

    Oh, the joys extra flavour of loose leaf tea!
    An always in Oxford as could throw the leaves onto my garden, now … it’s an occassional luxury, but Twinnings bags are pretty good ๐Ÿ™‚
    Caught the tail end of a radio thing today reporting people not buying tea pots any more as prefer to sling a teabag into a mug instead – grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!
    I think i may post on this topic!

    Like

  3. Actually no idea about the extra flavour but hellish cheaper!!

    My Assam is a cheap Morries stuff, BT is Twins, and so is Darjeeling. I judge my tea on how many incredibly weak cups I can get out of it ๐Ÿ˜€

    I have two old teapots courtesy of my mother ๐Ÿ™‚ and two of my own ๐Ÿ˜€

    Never understood why people use teabags in teapots though???

    Do post ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. Kyanite Blue says:

    Tea post delayed by a snow one ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. Totty says:

    Tea first, made in a pot and left to brew; can’t stand gnat’s pee. Milk in first, tea poured from a height so it gets lots of bubbles on the top. Two cups of tea and I am ready to think about breakfast. This can be anything but eggs. Toast, well done with lots of butter if cut from a loaf, or olive oil and salt or nuked tomatoes if barra. Porridge, torrijas or a bacon butty if Bossman is in the mood for cooking, Left over cheese and onion pie or bread pudding always go down well, and cereal is acceptable as long as it is relatively unsweetened eg rice crispies. Offer me eggs, and I would rather settle for another pot of tea.

    Like

I appreciate any comments you leave, so long as they are relatively polite. And thanks for reading.

